The S.O.S. Band – Sands Of Time

Today I fancied listening to something a bit chilled so I dug out this album from the iPod Sandsoftimesosbandarchive. I’m pretty sure we have all bought albums on the strength of one track, and in this case it was The Finest because it features Alexander O’Neal and was produced by Jam and Lewis.  It has that classic 80’s jazz funk/soul sound with deep bass lines and electronic drums which I would normally enjoy but I have to say I found this album a bit of a tough listen.  I’m all for a bit of moodiness but for me many of the tracks edged too far into the dreary.  The lead vocal is almost stand-offish and I can’t quite get the feeling behind it.  Still if this sounds like your thing then give it a try, maybe it just wasn’t the right day for it.

Standout track: The Finest

Leave a Reply

